Vogue 1109

I just finished making this top for my daughter. As always after finishing a project, I can’t help but to admire my product. I take inn all the details. See the flaws, but also the things that please me. All in all, I am happy.

The fabric I have used is sort of a cotton jersey. It is not as stretchy as I might like it to be, at least not in both directions. The vertical stretch is acceptable, while horizontally it is borderline….. Still, it is what I had in the house and as usual going out to buy the fabric is not so easy because access to fabric stores is not the greatest in this area.  I purchased it last year on sale. Still, I really like the subdued stripes. They do not jump out at you like some will, making it softer to the eye.

I love the shape of the garment. It has some fantastic details. The neck band goes all the way down, neck to sleeve.  Look at the pleats in the sleeves! I love them. Even though the fabric I used in a way is “ordinary”…. The detail in the design makes all the difference. I have never made anything designed by Sandra Betzina before. But I now plan to buy a bunch of her patterns the next time sewingpatterns.com run a sale.  I can’t wait :-)

What I made definitely resembles the top in the pattern, but you can tell that the characteristics of the fabric are different. I do not thing it is a bad thing, because I like the look of it.  My daughter has now tried it on and she loves it. She wants me to make her another from similar fabric I have, only it is blue.  So yes, I will make another and I also recommend it to others.

 

 

 

Front and back view :-)

Pleats and neck band

.

.

.

.

.

.

side view vogue 1109Rear neck view

Side view

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

