McCall’s 6533 Misses Jumpsuit, summer outfits for all the “girls”

I wanted to make a summer «jumpsuit» for my girls and myself. I found this pattern at sewingpatterns.com and I had to try it.

I like both the shape of the pattern and the fact that the sizing runs from a size 4-20. This made it possible for me to use it for my 12 year old, my 17 year old and myself. Not bad, great adjustment possibilities.  

This pattern is very basic. You can make it as complicated as you feel like. My oldest daughter likes things simple, so for her I chose a grayish –beige cotton blend. I made no frills or ruffles for her. The only editing I have done to her pattern is the length of the shorts and also ajust the opening of for the arm. I didn’t want to make short shorts for any of us, so I have just lengthened all of them.

My youngest daughter and I like a little frills and detail. On both hers and my outfits I have added ruffles and used two matching fabrics. I have color blocked for example by making the pockets from one fabric and the rest of the pants in the other striped fabric. I have also varied the direction of the stripes, just giving the garment a little life. On my outfit I added a tie belt and I appliqued a fabric flower.

This pattern does not call for any buttons or anything to hold the front of the “blouse” part shut. I have added snaps and buttons. I think that is necessary, otherwise you need to wear something under the jumpsuit.

These were fun outfits to sew.

The directions were clear, I would definitely make it aggain… whenever I feel like I need more.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to McCall’s 6533 Misses Jumpsuit, summer outfits for all the “girls”

  1. Sitting Bull says:

    :-))))The summerladies ready for the summer- they look like candies!!!

Leave a Reply

