Vogue 1234, pattern by Sandra Betzina.

I love this pattern. In a way it is fun, doesn’t just have a straight up and down shape and it is very comfortable. I used a cotton lycra fabric from my stash. It has laid around for a long time and I didn’t quite know what to do with it. I tend to like prints that are not too complex. This to me was a little much. But then I had this sewing pattern and I didn’t have any other fabric at hand that was suitable.

The pattern is a bit time-consuming to make, because you have to mark all the corners of the pattern pieces using tape and a marker. This is necessary to get the placing correct. The dress was a bit long, so I had to exclude the bottom panel and cut of a bit at the bottom. I thought this made the bottom a little wide. In the end I made an elastic casing, giving me the desired width. Next time I use this pattern I will try to alter the pattern before I cut my fabric, retaining the intended shape at the bottom.

Still in the end I felt like the work was worth it. Here are the results:

.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vogue 1234, pattern by Sandra Betzina.

  1. prttynpnk says:

    I like it! In fact, I totally covet it. I have to enjoy this one on others- it’s definitely not a good shape for me, but I love it on you!

  2. Barbara says:

    I like this pattern too. I have been hesitant to make it because I am only 5’1″ but since viewing yours I am reconsidering. You did a great job!

    • sewingforfun says:

      I am sure it will turn out fine. I think I would ajust the panels at the bottom, just slanting them from further up til you get to the length you want. I would definetly try to keep the bottom edge of the dress. Mine turned out fine, but if there is anything I would do different, I gues that would be it. I think I cut off at least 20cm.
      :-) Good luck.

Leave a Reply

