Burda 7734, hoodie, jacket, Getting my son ready for colledge

Left you see the photo from the pattern cover.

My oldest son is going off to college in a couple of days. I am filled with sentiment but I am also happy to see him grow. He is my first born, my “guinea pig” sort of speak. He walks ahead of his siblings, “braking mom in” to “the facts of life”.

I want so much to send all my love with him, and at the same time I feel the need to guide him and help him find strength.

Being hopelessly sentimental I ended up making him a “jacket hoodie” with a painted motif (I used fabric acrylic paint).  I told my son that when things are rough he should always seek “light”. As we all know, there are good and bad powers that coexist in the world. I want him so much to choose the better path. I know he must make his own choices and make mistakes, but I still  need to give him some reminders. Here you see the “lighthouse hoodie”, modeled by my husband).

In the back I have painted a big nasty wave, and in the middle of it (if you study it well) there is a tiny boat struggling to stay above the water.

.

.

.

.

.

I My made my first version of this hoodie about one and a half years ago. You can see it by here:     http://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/burda-7734/

I do not like short versions of hoodies for men, all my versions are modefyed. I made them  longer and added a ribbing that goes all along the bottom edge.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Here are two other versions without a zipper. Even though I know, I actually can buy clothes too;  :-) I still feel the need to make something for him, in a way getting him ready for “life” :-) Buying finished products just isn’t the same :-) When I make it my self I can customize it to my wants and prewashe the fabric so I know it will not lose its shape when washed. I find sewing worth it, despite abundance  of ready to wear articles in the stores. Besides, those other garments weren’t made with so much love.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

