Kwik Sew 3452, getting ready for fall :-), Fleece hoodie with applique and embroydery

Fall is upon us and I can sense the cold weather coming. In my mind I can vividly imagine colder days and me shivering. I know I need something warm, but I keep postponing making a jacket for myself. There are too many fun things to sew for my girls.

 

I finally did it though. My black fleece jacket that has been lingering in my mind for a long time is a reality. I like black, but it can be a bit boring. I need something pleasant for the upcoming days of winter “shivers”, something that will warm my sole as much as my body.

Hearts are my weakness; I keep adding them to all sorts of project.  I put a nice bold one with blanket stitch embroidered around it on my bottom.  I also embroidered a  “thread running stitch” extending along the zipper and around the hood edge.

.

My favorite embroidery book is “Doodle Stitching” by Aimee Ray. I haven’ made many of the motifs, but I let myself be inspired by them. I use the basic stitches and make details, adding color and detail.  A little embroidery will lift almost any project and it isn’t too time consuming either.

.

.

.

I am actually on my way out of the house with my dog; she is eagerly waiting for me. We always go for a long walk in the afternoon which is the highlight of her day. “Please can we go now”, I am sure those are the thoughts in her head.

You might also like to take a look at my many other versions of this pattern:

 

http://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/816/

http://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2012/07/05/kwik-sew-3452-alternative-pocket-solution/

http://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/kwik-sew-3452/

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

