McCall’s 6604

Pattern cover McCalls’s 6604

ON THE WAY TO PERFECTION:

You know what they say, “all good things come in threes”. I have heard that “to get the perfect house, you must build three times”. I guess this can be applied to sewing as well.

I have had this pattern for a while, but after seeing “Pretty Greviaces” post on this pattern (http://prttynpnk.wordpress.com/2012/09/09/the-current-plans-of-mice-and-annes/)   I got to work.

The first version I made was from a green wool shirting. This fabric is soft and warm so I thought it would make a good winter top. I chose the version with the collar. Somehow I couldn’t get it to lie nicely like in the pattern photo, so in the next version I omitted this.

.

My next sample was from a rayon fabric. It is usable, looks nice on my daughter with the yellow top under it. Still, this version wasn’t quite right either.

Finally I chose cotton, very light weight fabric with a tad of stretch to it. The print is warm and fun and it is the version I am the most satisfied with. The sleeve bands I raised higher up then the sewing pattern suggests. I think it looks better this way and my daughter is always warm, so it works out well.

.

Oh, yes, in the end I want to add something just to make you smile. My youngest daughter was going to a dress up birthday party, where “Harry Potter” was the theme. Here she is getting her “stuff” ready. They are all souvenirs from the “Harry Potter museum” in London and she was so excited. Take a look at “The Griff”, all ready to party. The tie belongs to my son, he wears it to church every sunday and  the “wand” is the “real Harry Potter wand”.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to McCall’s 6604

  1. prttynpnk says:

    Oh now i must have the long sleeved version, you temptress!

Leave a Reply

