Simplicity 1909, view C- party dress

simplicity 1909 cover,viewCWhenever there is action in the house our dog is sure to want a part in it. Here she has “snuck” into one of the photos.I am always on the look out for sewing patterns with a nice shape that are modest. I really liked the cut in this “bridal dress”. Of course my girls aren’t exactly ready to get married, (Not  yet), but I thought it would make a great party dress. Left you can see the pattern view.

I actually made it for my 12-year-old daughter. I used a size 6. The size description was not too far off her measurements. She is a little smaller in the bust, but I figured I could work that out. I shortened the skirt and rounded the neck in the back. The pattern features a deep v in the back, I thought that would be a little too “nude” for my daughter and raised it.

I love the result and my daughter was very happy to wear it to church today. forran

My husband actually took this first photo. I wanted to get a few more poses and took some pictures myself. But you know, when Mom does it, everything is wrong. Her facial expression in the photoes I took suggests that this is “BORING”. I ended up deleting them all and asked my oldest daughter to help me out.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Of course my girl is shorter than most adult women, so the top part was a “tad” big. It gapped in the neck area. To solve this I used elastic “thread” in the bobbin and sewed two rows of elastic on both sides of back, starting at shoulders and ending at the zipper. This worked perfect.

bak7sidebak2See :-) I now have a perfect fit!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

In the next photo “shooting”, with her big sister at the   camera, my 12 year old’s attitude changed completely.  She lit up, there is definitely life here!!!

forran- armer utside Cathrinehopp i luftenforran av Cathrinemest turid

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Simplicity 1909, view C- party dress

  1. Pella says:

    Stunning dress in a lovely colour, dog pretty impressive too!

  2. Pingback: The Wiggle Dress by Gretchen Hirsch, Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing | sewingforfun

  3. KPearle says:

    Did you put the liner in it? I’m making this dress right now and am not sure if I really need the liner.

Leave a Reply

