Lekala 4161

A TOP FOR MY NIECE:

I made my niece a “jersey top”. I have wanted to make her something for a long time, I just find it is difficult to sew for her when she isn’t close enough to try things on. Still, I have ventured into Lekala patterns again lately and thought I would give it a try on her.

I put her measurements into the right places and ordered a pattern for her. I was very satisfied with the last Lekala project I made, so I was feeling optimistic. But the pattern pieces left me feeling a little uneasy after I taped all the parts of it together. IMG_3523IMG_3524

The bust and under bust measurements seemed to be adequate, but there did not seem to be much room for her tummy and hips. I did not want to make a top that would be tight on her, so I added width to these areas (see above photo). The photo only shows the changes on the front piece, but I added the same measurements to bottom back. Now my pattern at least gives room for her minimum body measurements plus a total of about 3 cm (1 inch).  I do not know if this mistake will happen to other patterns too. I am hoping not, but I will check on it before I make a other project for her in the future.

Here you can see the finished top: IMG_3517 IMG_3529

Did you notice the poodle in the center back? I hope my niece does not object, but somehow I had to add something from the animal kingdom. After all January still isn’t over! This is a little reminder that it  is made in the “spirit of animals” (who knows, maybe it will add value to it in the future, long after I am dead and my “true potential is known” :-)). Fellow sewers, we are artists, aren’t we???IMG_3518

OK, back to reality. The pattern called for “draw string” in the casing, but I used round elastic with a “tightener” (I don’t know what they are called). This I think is more practical than needing to tie a little knot every time the top is in use. Practical is best in my book.

Now I am almost finished……. but of course I had to lengthen the outfit about 10cm or 4 inches (I like a sweater to cover the bottom and the widest part of the hips). A little more in the back then in front. I love rounded finishes like this. It gives room for the behind and I think it is a nice look. IMG_3520

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lekala 4161

  1. vivjm says:

    Ooh yes, this is great (especially the hood) – I am sure she will love it!

  2. sewexhausted says:

    This is fantastic! Well done- and yes- artists! Sewists are definitely artistic!

  3. Claire says:

    I adore this! I wish I was your niece (ha). The tightener I believe is called a cord stop. The elastic is brilliant.

  4. Indigo Eve says:

    I like your changes to the hem- a much nicer look for sure!

  5. Pingback: Butterick 5753 | sewingforfun

Leave a Reply

