Vogue 8728, a contribution to the 1940’s sew allong,

coverHere is my first 1940’s outfit. I bought the pattern a long time ago and I was happy to finally make it.

I used a cotton volange fabric. It is nice and thin, yet it doesn’t crease too bad. With all the gathering in this pattern I thought it would be wise to avoid any bulky stuff.

This dress is for my oldest daughter. I knew the shape would be just right for her. She was so pleased.

The belt I lined with several layers fusible interfacing and one layer cotton fabric that I also fused to the inside of the belt. I was happy to have a belt buckle at hand. I try to keep things like that when I throw out old belts etc. This one came in handy.

The finnished product on “My GIRL” 🙂 IMG_3861IMG_3849IMG_3853IMG_3856

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vogue 8728, a contribution to the 1940’s sew allong,

  1. vivjm says:

    I have this pattern! (but it’s a bit advanced for my sewing skills yet lol)
    The fabric you made it in looks perfect for the dress & I think your daughter’s lovely smile says it all 🙂

  2. Anne W says:

    Wow, that’s really pretty!

  3. Leigh Ann says:

    Very nice! I love 40s fashion. You did a nice job–it is a very pretty dress. Your daughter looks lovely in it. And happy!

  4. Sehr schönes Kleid.
    Ich habe es auch genäht.
    Liebe Grüße von Susan

  5. boolena says:

    This is gorgeous; the best example I’ve seen of this dress. It looks like you raised the neckline a bit, which is lovely. Did you?

Leave a comment