Simplicity 1777, 1940′s dress

cover illustrasjon SECOND CONTRIBUTION TO THE 1940′S SEWING CHALLANGE

This weekend we went to visit my in-laws. My brother-in-law turned 50 years and the family was throwing a party. Before going there, among other things I made my girls new dresses. Afterwards I wanted to make myself one as well.I found a nice 1940′s pattern and chose one  of my ITY jersey fabrics.

I did not have much time to make my dress. It had to be completed in one day. The pattern itself is not difficult, but it takes time. There are  many pleats and darts to be made, and of course matching up my fabric to give the dress a symmetrical appearance. By the time I finished, late the evening before we were departing, I was exhausted.  But I was also happy with the result. I made view A.

side2

bak2forran.

.

.

I really wanted a comfortable dress and ITY Jersey fabric is the perfect fabric. It is soft and wonderful. The only drawback is, that it isn’t very warm. To help keep me warm,  I lined  1/2 yard (45 cm)  of “fur fabric” and gathered the ends. A very quick and easy way to make a “shawl”. m sjal

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Simplicity 1777, 1940′s dress

  1. Gjeometry says:

    Oooooh, this is a VERY sexy dress. Nicely done!

  2. prttynpnk says:

    Oh, I hate that I missed this post- I love this on you- so flatteringa and such a bold print. Great sewing as always!

  3. Sitting Bull says:

    Jepp the dress did suit you fine ! Not bad considering that you only had one to make it !

Leave a Reply

