A weekend trip to Bergen. Vogue 8648, Kwik Sew 2993, Cotour dress, wool jacket

BergenLast night my husband and I returned home from a weekend trip to Bergen. Bergen is the second largest city in Norway. It is “sea port” town. Traditionally life has been centered on trade and the ocean. It is surrounded by lots of mountains, a very scenic area.

I don’t think many people carry a sewing machine and serger when they go to a hotel. I got some interested glances as I carried my “equipment” to our room.

forranI brought a couple of outfits I have been working with for my son’s girlfriend. She is always cold, so I knitted some wool yarn on my knitting machine and used my hoodie pattern Kwik Sew 2993Kwik Sew 2993 and sewed her  a nice warm,  underlined wool  jacket for winter. sidefor

The second project was Vogue 8648   , my project for the craftsy class “The Couture Dress”.  easy options coverYou might remember I have had some problems with this dress. See my earlier post (listed bellow).  After watching another Craftsy.com course “Adjust the Bust” by  Kathleen Cheetham,  I realized what my mistake was. I had shifted the bust point of the pattern by moving the seam of the center front too far in. I took the seam apart, moved it out and, IT SOLVED MY PROBLEM”.  I am so happy, because I am now ready to add the silk lining.side

forranbakHere are the links to my preveous posts about my “dress and jacket” project for my sons girlfriend:

http://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2013/07/23/a-update-on-vogue-83333-and-8648/

http://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2013/04/21/the-muslim-is-done-vogue-8648-the-the-couture-dress-from-craftsy-com-class-by-susan-khalje/

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A weekend trip to Bergen. Vogue 8648, Kwik Sew 2993, Cotour dress, wool jacket

  1. sewexhausted says:

    I love the jacket! The colors are wonderful! And the dress looks great- nice style and cut. Good work! I am glad you got it figured out! ~Laurie

  2. Gjeometry says:

    Ha!! I love that you took your sewing machine and serger on holiday! That’s too cool. I often wish that I a) played an instrument that you can take camping, like a guitar (I play piano) and b) had a hobby that you can pack in your carry-on (not so much with the sewing machine and overlocker). So, I’m tickled pink that you brought yours. And, look at all you got done, great dress and sweater for your daughter!!

    • sewingforfun says:

      :-) I made the jacket ahead of time. Had a little hand stitching to do. The serger was for a sweatshirt I was making. :-) but I did get some final ajustmens on the dress. That was great. A sewingmachine and serger on vacation is great. A fun thing to do when relaxing :-)

Leave a Reply

