burda 7834, tunic top, project for craftsy class

I picked up this pattern a while ago. I thought it had a very nice shape. I finally got around to making it. cover

I chose to use it as a project for the craftsy classes “Custom Fitting: Back, Neck, and Shoulders” and “Adjust the Bust” by Kathleen Cheetham.

These are two classes I would recommend to any sewer. I have taken a lot of craftsy classes. They have been inspiring and informative, but I think these are the classes that have helped me the most understanding how to make changes to a pattern. I am very happy with them.

Working with this project the class “Custom Fitting: Back, Neck, and Shoulders”    helped me adjust the shoulder area correctly and shorten the bodice. While   “Adjust the Bust”  really is helpful understanding how to place and work with darts.  here I am in my outfit. I am on my way to the fabric store :-)!panserrype

Here you can see what changes I made to the pattern. After finishing the top I discovered I need to make changes to the bust dart. I tried to make the change, but I had some difficulty. I have asked Kathleen Cheetham if she has any suggestions how I should solve it. endringer

I tried making a slanted dart (a bit diagonal), but of course the dart legs ended up having different lengths, causing problems. If I just place a new dart with the same angle and shape next to this one it will not point at the bust point. So I am wondering if I can change it totally? I hope Kathleen Cheetham has a good sugestion. I want to make this change before trying to make a second version.

Beside this I am very happy with the fit. Luckily the print in the fabric is busy enough to camouflage the “problem”.side

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to burda 7834, tunic top, project for craftsy class

  1. Gjeometry says:

    Beautiful blouse! And, thanks for the tips on those Craftsy courses. I know some classes are definitely better than others and I have not taken either of those.

Leave a Reply

