Two of my nieces had baby boys!!!

Two of my nieces had baby boys!!!

 

So I had to make them something special. Of cores over here in Norway soccer (USA)/football (Europe) is a big thing for boys, both big and small. Especially the one daddy is a soccer-aholic. So this had to be part of the theme.

My first niece had her baby last spring (2010). She was a bridesmaid in my wedding. At that time she was the cutest 6 year old. When I asked her what she wanted, she said she wanted a cover for her baby comforter. And the colors she liked was green. So I centered the theme of her blanket cover around that.

Her little sister who had her little boy in fall had no special requests except that she liked what I made for her sister. Her “hubby” “is the ”soccer-aholic”, and I did not want to make a “copy” of her sisters blanket. So  I  decided to centered the theme on the ocean and the color blue. In this country we live by the ocean, making it a central part of our lives.

I found my motives searching for pictures on internet. The only exception is  my crab. He is from a sewing book (symaskinlyd by Anne Beier Finnestad 2004).

Making blanket covers like this is a lot of fun, because you can use your imagination freely. I use iron on adhesive facing (vliesofix) in the back of the material I use for the apliques  and I use the free hand embroidery-foot. The first one I made on my old singer machine, but in late summer, my sweet husband bought me a new “Janome” sewing machine. It was so much fun exploring my new possibilities. The new machine sewed so much smoother then my old one. Making  “free hand” embroidery so enjoyable.  I also got to try my ribbon foot when I made my “goals”. Discovering what a difference it makes having good equipment was fantastic.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

