Fabric jewelry

I love necklaces and other decorative items arround my neck. In fact I feel a bit naked without them. It is not important to have anything expensive, but I like it  functional and good looking. I love different beaded necklaces, scarves, and fabric jewelry.

I was surfing the internet and came across instructions on how to make kanzachi flowers. I was totally fascinated. I wanted to make a necklace and felt that I needed to find some new ideas.  Have been studying different styles, and had decided that a piece made of fabric would be perfect. Especially when my daughter is to wear it. She wants her stuff very comfortable.

Kanzashi flowers are almost like origami, only you use fabric. On YouTube I found a couple of instruction videos that I like. Just go in on youtube.com and search for http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ukOEfoBBgU4&feature=related and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LaerMKBS8S8 . Look at them, and get inspired.

Flower Corsage

Watch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ukOEfoBBgU4&feature=related .

Instead of using a hairclip on the flower corsage, I attached elastic.  The material I used is regular jean material. It is coarser and thicker then the fabric they used in the instructionvideo.

Because of this, I only used four of the big circles (10 cm)and one of the small (6cm). I also did not cut a slit in the small circle. I just sewed a circle by hand and ruffled it that way. My petals are sewn in place in stead of glued.

Jean material is nice, but I think my first choice next time will be a lighter fabric (even a lighter denim)

I will describe how I made the necklace.

since the fabric in my daughters dress are in different tones of blue, I thought that the flowers should be in the dress fabric, and that I could make the strands under it in a jean  material.

Fabric necklace

I went up stairs and found some old jeans, cut of the bottom seam, and proceeded to rip strands of fabric about 2 cm (about 0.8 inches) wide. Then folded it double and sewed it on my sewing machine. I then cut of the exess fabric. Cutting close to the seam.

I made three lengths, held them together in one end with a stitch and then braided them loosely. This I did three times (I had three braided strands). Finally I braided the three strands together, but very lose. Just barley tangeled together.

Both sides are finnished by sewing a piece of the lighter cotton material to it. On the one side the square of fabric  is larger then on the other side. There will be a button attatched to the small  and a button hole on the larger end.

Sew the one end to the small piece of fabric. It is important that the fabric is a little wider then the strands of braid, so you can fold it in, hiding the raw fabric.

Sew on the fabric, fold in the sides and end and fold double. Then sew on sewing machine. As a alternative you can sew this seam by hand.

.

.

Follow the same steps as with the smaller end, only using a larger piece of fabric. 

Finally, make the button hole and attach button. Go to  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LaerMKBS8S8 to make your flowers. In this instruction she uses nine petals. I only used five and my fabric is not starched. I like the petals soft. My petals are about three cm long and are sewn in place. No felt or anything in the back. Sew on your kansachi flowers and decorate with beads.

You now have your fabric necklace.

🙂

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

