King Dracula- Simplicity 5927

My daughter is the king in a play; so of course, I had to make her a cape. Funny, in a way she looks like Dracula…..

This creation is made from simple stretch velour fabric. The pattern is relatively simple, the cape and collar parts. I have chosen to make the cape double. That means that the cape part is cut two times, so that the cape is lined on the inside.

.

 .

 Because this material is so stretchy and soft, it is very important to use an interfacing of some kind to strengthen and stiffen the collar and the area where I will add button holes. I have chosen to use a plain cotton material that is a little bit stiff. It is thicker and sturdier then regular interfacing and works perfectly.

I fastened all of these parts to the material by sewing them on with red thread. It is important to pin the fabrics securely so they stay in place while you sew.

 .

On one of the cape fronts I sewed a strip of white material to both sides.

 .

.

Before making the button holes I try the cape on my daughter to make sure there is room enough around the neck. Then I make a button hole on each side.

.

 The buttons I am using are attached to each other with a securely fastened string on the back.

.

This allows the cape to be worn on both sides.

.

All ready for the play!!!

🙂

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

