Overall/ Jumpsuit, Burda 5995

Most of my family lives in Wisconsin. My siblings (who I grew up with) were born over here in Norway, but we have a American father, so now I am the only one in Norway. Still, especially my sister likes the tradition of good wool clothes. Most people can knit and good quality yarn is easy to find. Still knitting takes time. This is especially true if you want fine texture, which requires small needles and thin yarn.

I am so lucky, that I have inherited a knitting machine from a friend of mine. It is a old model, but it works. My husband is my good helper and together we are able to knit surfaces that I later cut up and use as material.

I really like this pattern, because it is not too bulky. It is a nice snug fit that it is comfortable to wear under a snowsuit. It also has some real cute motives for appliquéing.  I would recommend doing the appliquéing before sewing the pattern pieces together, making it easier to get a good result.

When you are working with stretchy fabrics, it is important to stabilize the material when you are sewing decorative motives on it. You can buy this in the fabric store, or do as me. I just take regular printing paper. Pin it to the back of my material and tear it away when I am finished sewing. That way the fabric will not bulk on you as you sew.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

