Kwick Sew 2356, gloves

Spring is in the air, or at least, that is what we are hoping. Still, we woke up this morning and it was snowing. My oldest son works part time in a warehouse. He uses my scooter to get there, so snow is not exactly what he is wishing for. In fact he fell the other day as he was riding along. Made the handlebar area on the scooter a little lopsided, but he is still using it.

This morning when he tried using the scooter on the new snow, of course he fell again. This is not only hard on the scooter, but his gloves were totally wrecked. So, today, guess what I have done? Of course, being a sewing mother, I didn’t just buy new gloves. I had to make them.

This past winter I made many pairs of felted wool gloves. Today I used Kwick Sew 2356 and made outer gloves that the wool gloves could fit into. I used a durable fabric, and put some reflectors on the top parts, making them more visible to traffic. After sewing everything, I treated them with a chemical, so they would be more water resistant.  I am pleased with the result.

I have used this pattern many times and I like it. I prefer to make the inside of the gloves first and adjusting the top shell to it.  Keep in mind that it is important to allow more material for the outer shell of the gloves then for the lining (because the lining usually is made from elastic material). In my opinion this pattern is a little on the large side. Just experiment and find out what works for you.

My photos show the gloves over and under.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kwick Sew 2356, gloves

  1. Sitting Bull says:

    I must say that these gloves looks ruff and just what your son needs right now, I wonder did he hurt himself in the accident ? Have a nice day !

  2. sewingforfun says:

    Just his pride 🙂 Well, maybe a couple of bruses and a scratch, other then that he is fine.

Leave a Reply

