Fleece jacket for my daughter with pony on back

I just finished this micro fleece jacket for my younger daughter. I don’t remember what pattern I used but I vaguely remember using some dress shape that I improvised around. Cutting it into the shape of a jacket and adding a hood. It has been quite a while since I cut the pattern pieces. They just lay among my pile of “stuff” and I decided it was time to make something of it.

Here you see a front view.

I combined the red micro fleece with a cute pastel striped fleece. My daughter loves the “my little pony” series that she watches on the computer. I painted a random horse with fabric paint on plain cotton fabric, cut it out and appliqued it onto a pocket. I like using fabric paint because it opens so many possibilities for the imagination.

Left: The back view

Making this pocket took some time, but was rather easy.  Found it very helpful using vliesofix an iron on adhesive while making my back pocket. I used it to adhere the pocket fleece fabric to the cotton back, joining them together and making it stable to work with.  When I had put in the zipper and added my horse motif I added my pocket backing. Since this already had an iron on adhesive on the back, I could iron it on to the fleece jacket without any pucker.

In the past I have spent a lot of time hand basting the front zipper. This was quite time consuming. Yesterday it dawned on me that I needed to use a strip of iron on interfacing along the front edges before putting in the zipper. This seems like such a basic thing, I do not know why I have not done this before. Today, putting in that zipper was so easy and fast. I did not spend hour’s hand basting. I almost feel a little stupid that I did not consider this very basic step earlier, but now I did and it works!!!! 🙂 On my photo you can see the iron on interfacing behind my zipper.

Lately I have made stretch lace my friend. I bought a bunch from www.laceheaven.com . It adds a feminine touch and a nice finish.

There are so many fun things to do with the things you are making. When I finally was finished I did not have a red cord to put into the hood. But you know, I have a hard time throwing things away and this time that was a good thing. When my husband and I were just married I bought him a jacket that I loved. It is worn out a long time ago, but the hood still layed in our laundry room, and there was a cord I could use on it. How fun,- bringing back so many fond memories. I love using old things that are packed with memories.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

