feminine Hoodie with pin tucks and lace. Kwik sew 3452, how to make pin tucks.

Letting myself be inspired:

Sometimes I surf the internet looking for fun clothing ideas. I came across a grey hoodie with the title “Light Grey Hoodie with Sunshine Hood Lining” by “Magna Carta”. The hood is much too open for me, but the tucks and lace along the top part,bordering to the neckline, I just simply love it. So, of course I had to try to make my own version. As most of my “hoodies” have been in the past, this one is also based on “Kwik Sew 3452”. See my previous products using this pattern: https://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2012/07/05/kwik-sew-3452-alternative-pocket-solution/ and https://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/kwik-sew-3452/

I had to make separate pattern pieces for the different steps.

This is how I made my “pin tucks” with stretch lace border:

I made a separate pattern piece by copying the top area of the front panels down to the armhole area. Then I squared it of by cutting of the pieces bordering to the sides (I added them on again later). This is the area I wanted to place the “pin tucks”.

Then I made myself a pattern for the tucks. I made it larger then I wanted the final product, just to give myself some “room” to work with later. The tucks are illustrated by the “scribbled” areas. I cut a “slit” along the center, using this as a guide when «thread tracing” the tucks unto my fabric.  I pinned it very securely onto the fabric before doing this.

The “thread traced” areas were great guides when I folded and sewed my tucks.  Here you see them before ironing (with thread tracing still in place)

and after (thread tracing is removed).

I love it when things start to fall into place and I can see my idea starting to form. It drives me forward, so I just MUST continue working.

Now I could take the first «pin tuck” area pattern piece, center it on this area and cut

(remember to make the right and left pieces symmetrical). It is now time to place the lace.

First I sewed the bottom lace, folded it up towards the pin tucks, and then added lace to the sides.  Finally I sewed a piece of fabric (more than large enough) to each side lace, completing the width of the final top front panel (plus a little extra). After ironing my product, I could finally cut the complete shape representing my pin tucked area of the front panels.

It was now ready to be joined to the rest of the bottom front panels.

Finally, this is what my daughter looks like in the final product 🙂

Here I am posing in an other version. I made matching ones for me and my sister:

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to feminine Hoodie with pin tucks and lace. Kwik sew 3452, how to make pin tucks.

  1. Randi says:

    I know it’s a long time since you posted this, but I judt had to tell you how pretty I think these hoodies are! Found your blog through your review on PatternReview.com. I love your adventurous approach to your sewing, as you say, trying something new is how to learn! It’s inspiring to me, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

