Upcycling girls jacket, decorating jacket, my little Kitty and pom pom trims. Embellishing girls jacket. pynte jente jakke.

This jacket must have a sole. I am sure it cried for mercy and begged my sister to save its life. It came to her house as she was gathering odds and ends for a garage sale. She was collecting money for a charity organization. After the sale was finished, this jacket was among the left overs. The zipper was broken and you could tell that it was acquainted with the washing machine. Still, my sister has a sweet little girl, and she herd the jacket pleads for mercy. So she sent it to me. It has traveled from Wisconsin USA to Stavanger in Norway for a face lift. with it, my sister sent a dark blue zipper to help prolong the poor jackets life. 🙂

So, I got to work. I couldn’t help but to feel that there was something boring about this jacket. I imagined my 5 year old niece “over there” and just could not see anything in this jacket that would appeal to her “pink fluff” feelings. I thought, that since it has traveled half way around the world, for me to help save it, I should add a touch to help my niece love it.

I started digging through my sewing stash, and found a perfect “my little kitty” iron on applique and some “pom pom yarn”.

.

.

.

.

.

I zigzagged (narrow zigzag)  close to the pom poms.

and cut of the excess part of the yarn.

Then I folded it over my first seam, so the pom poms covered the first zigzag stitch. Next I sewed a straight stitch keeping the pom poms in place.

I find that by buying yarn like this, I get much more for my money. Pom pom trims tend to be expensive over here.

So, even though I cannot take away the jackets past and make it brand new, hopefully it now stands a chance of a worthy second life. And just maybe, the jackets life experience will make it a greater companion :-).

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

