McCall’s 6263, Burda 7875, lace dress with bolero

When I saw this pattern, it appealed to me right away. I had no idea when I would make it, but I had to have it. When my sister asked me to make her a lace dress I just knew this was a design she might enjoy. So, I got working.

I used a stretch lace and stretch lining instead of the suggested fabric. This ment I had to adjust the lining and the lace separately on my dress form as I worked. First I sewed the lining part, then I put the lace over it adjusting as I went trying to get a good match between them. Here is a front, side and back view of the finished product:

.

.

.

.

When reading past sewing pattern reviews on the internet, I could tell the neckline was pretty low, so I raised it both in front and back. I also added a lace trim around the neck area.

I guess I am a little paranoid about making fitted sleeves like this one because I am afraid they will end up too tight, so I added a little more fullness and ruffled them. I think it worked well.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Here you see my favorite part, the skirt 🙂 Isnt it great??? Just imagine swirling arround and having the fullness raise itself arround you!!! It  gives you an airy Marilyn Monroe feel!!! Fantastic 🙂

Yes I like this dress. I might combine the top part from a different pattern and the skirt from this one in the future. In other words, I want to find a neckline solution I do not have to alter.

Even though I like this dress, I didn’t feel it was complete without a companion. So I made burda 7975 to go with it,  I love the combination. You can read my full review on it here:

https://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2012/07/11/burda-7875-micro-fleece-bolero-with-lace-on-hood/

Here you see the completed set:

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to McCall’s 6263, Burda 7875, lace dress with bolero

  1. prttynpnk says:

    I like the dress alone, but I LOVE it with the hoody- that is such a great touch of style whimsy!

Leave a Reply

