Childrens apron from 1925, “Sy forkær smekker og servietter” by Olaug Berg, boksenteret 1999.

After finishing my daughters tunic yesterday I felt I needed a simple project. I ended up looking through some library books I had borrowed and found a very cute children’s apron. It is similar in shape to the apron I just made for myself https://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2012/08/18/simplicity-5201-daisy-kingdom-apron/

Isnt this cute???

.

.

The only thing I do not like about this pattern is the embroidery. I guess things were different in 1925. One teddy bair holding a “whip” against an other,  is not my choice of children’s motif.

I love these old aprons and of corse I needed to make it even  though I had no idea who it would be for. But I knew this would be simple, something to relax with :-).

I used an old shirt I would no longer use for fabric. Bound the edges with bias tape that I folded over to the back and placed an iron on aplique on the pocket in front. The original version has a pretty crocheted along the edge.

I have decided that it is OK to keep some of the very cute small stuff I make at times. Most likely I will be a granny some day, my kids might enjoy a stack of “stuff” they can dig through when that time comes. This way I will also always have a “quick” children’s gift when I need it.

Here is the apron I made 🙂

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Childrens apron from 1925, “Sy forkær smekker og servietter” by Olaug Berg, boksenteret 1999.

  1. Sitting Bull says:

    Yess i agree, very cute 🙂 the litle butterfly brightens up. i really hope you will have a lot of grandchildren to use it !!!

Leave a Reply

