Lekala 4107 part 2

I finally finnished this dress. This entry is divided in two. The first part can be found a couple of posts bellow.

Now that  I am done , I discovered that the sewing instructions can be found at http://www.lekala.co/dress-with-ruffled-skirt.html.  I am happy to find these instructions. Finally a sight that actually makes the lekala patterns understandable. I think this will increase the sale of these patterns because they do have wonderful design. The individual downloads are also a great feature.

I see that I did not sew my “pleats” in the right direction, but I do not think it really makes a difference. The one thing I will do is tack the top skirt to the lining skirt the way it was described in the last part of these instructions. Earlier I did not understand how to make the dress drape the way it should. Now I have the solution, 🙂 wonderful!!! Forran cover

Even though I discovered this a bit late I was able to complete the dress.

Bellow  you see my daughter in her “outfit”.forran2

Bak2You can tell the tucks are missing and the dress is hanging down flat.  When you look apart from that, I think the dress looks fine.

I am looking forward to adding the tucks and “lift” the skirt. The flat look I got here is not quite right.

Here are some photos of how I put the dress together:

First I sewed the center front seam and the pleats as shown in my last post on this dress https://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/lekala-4107/.

Then I joined the bodice pieces to the matching skirt panels. dress and lining

As you can see I basted the belt to the bodice before sewing the side seams.

Next I put the lining onto the dress right sides together and sewed the armhole seams.

armsømThen I turned it so the right sides faced out (wrong sides together).

lining on dress fabric

Now I pressed the seams flat and sewed arround the neck area. armhull og hals

This is a bit tricky because the shoulder area is very narrow. I solved this by sewing as far as I felt I could,  starting at the back. Then I turned my fabric back and worked from a different angle. always working towards the “difficult”, narrow part at the shoulders. being careful not to “snag” fabric , I finally made it arround.

🙂 Now I was ready for the side seams and to start finnishing the bottom of the dress.

I did not want to gather the bottom part all at once. I think it is easier to get a good even results when dividing it into smaller parts.

gathering

After sewing the bottom of the lining to the gathered bottom part of the dress I turned the dress right side out and pressed all my seams.

Like the instructions mentioned above (http://www.lekala.co/dress-with-ruffled-skirt.html)  I also added a zipper in center back.

Even though I did not have these instructions while sewing,  the dress looks “almost” right. It will be fun to add the tucks in the skirt though. I will post that photo later, it is now in the middle of the night and I do not think my daughter will appreciate me disturbing her  now 🙂

Da, da da dam!!!! Here is the result after adding the tucks to the dress!!! What a difference understandable instructions make!!! To the people behind the Lekala website, THANK YOU SO MUCH for the effort you are making helping us understand these patterns. It is so worth it!!!side ferdig forran ferdig bak ferdig

It is incredible how this last “detail” brings the design of the dress together 🙂 🙂 🙂

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lekala 4107 part 2

  1. Sitting Bull says:

    Yes it made a big difference after you found the explanation 🙂 awesome ! I liked it.

  2. Sitting Bull says:

    Flottis !!!

  3. cher says:

    Hi there, I am about to start sewing this dress. I downloaded the instructions but I have to admit I am still a bit confused by the pleats. I don’t understand why in the back of the dress they are extended (all the way to the bottom-like really long darts) Did you sew them down in the back of your dress? The Lekala illustration isn’t really that helpful either. Any advice? I would really appreciate it.

  4. sewingforfun says:

    I have no idea why the pleats are so long either. I agree, it would be wonderful with a explanation. I just sewed them as darts,- but I dont exactly see what purpose it served. Did you try asking the question at lekala.co? I know it is possible to contact them. Stil, I think one of the most important things is to lift the skirt and tack it to the underskirt so you get the drape you are supposed to have. If you find a answer about the darts let me know. 🙂 I like the dress though. Think I would choose a light weight “creppy” , “satteeny” like fabric if I was to make it again 🙂 Would be fun to see your results when you finnish. 🙂 Good luck!!!!

  5. cher says:

    Hi. Thanks for getting back to me. I did write to Lekala. They get back quickly but the customer service/sales person, Natalia, doesn’t sew so she consulted with the designer. The response I got back was that they pleats either need to be basted or just pressed depending on your fabric and its ability to hold the pleat. They didn’t respond to my question about why they were so long in the back and not in the front. I also asked which way the pleats were supposed to go and the response was that I should be able to tell by looking at the pattern markings and that when folded the edge should be flat. I couldn’t really tell on the bodice because it seemed to be flat either way. I ended up folding them away from the center seam so they wouldn’t interfere with the seam allowance. I thought it would be bulky to have the pleat sewn in the center front bodice seam. Then I just did the same direction on the skirt front. I haven’t done the skirt back yet. But I know your photos will be helpful when I get to the lining. All in all I am pleased with the patterns from Lekala. I have done two skirts (skirt with tail is super cute!!!) and now this dress. I am planning on trying one of their coats next. It is a bit of a pain cutting and taping the patterns but I just do it when I am watching TV. I love that I don’t have to make as many pattern adjustments. I did do a FBA to the bodice of the dress and that seems to have worked out. First time doing that. I wish they offered cup sizes!

Leave a Reply

