Felted wool jacket, with hand knitted and crocheted details, knitting machine Brother KH820, Loretti 5544, combined techniques

Finally finished!!!!forran ferdig

In the winter I get cold easily and  I wanted to make a really warm jacket. I have made several gloves and slippers by knitting, sewing and felting wool. In my heada vision emerged of a jacket where I could use the same techniques. It sounded wonderful,  I started working on it.

First I knitted the yarn on my old “Brother” knitting machine, then I felted the “fabric in the washing machine”. Using the bodice pattern pieces from Loretti 5544 I cut out my pieces and started to sew. Even though the initial idea was great, I soon ran into “trouble”. The felted wool was bulky, tykk ullHow could I make everything lay flat and look nice? “Home felted wool” in general tends to be thicker and bulkier then the stuff from the store, sleeves from this fabric would not be comfortable.

Many times I have put this project aside and I had even decided to throw it away. But somehow a bit of my heart was in it, I just could not make myself do it!!!

Through trial and error and a lot of “sweat” I finally ended up using a thick cotton ribbing fabric as a complement to the wool. I made decorative borders along the center front and cut sleeves from this fabric. Still it all looked so dull, not very attractive at all. At times I was sure that this jacket could not be “saved”.

Still, here I am…. About two years after first starting it, I am finished. What saved the “terminal ill project”???? I guess there must have been some love in there.

As time went my head worked on the problem areas. I would get ideas on how to solve the “bulky”challange.hette I ended up knitting a hood and  cuffs from a machine washable wool in the same color as the felted wool. I also crocheted flowers for decoration.

I considered lining the hood with a nice soft, plush fabric. But you know, Pretty Grievances at http://prttynpnk.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/all-set-for-a-style-safari/ challenged us to focus on animal print, animal fabric this month. I have taken the challenge, I therefore decided that the last touch to this project needed to be a bit of fur. It was the only way I could think to tie it to this animal theme 🙂

So here we are, my first contribution to the challenge of the month.  side

bakI have other projects planned. After visiting the few fabric stores we have in tis area and not finding suitable material, I finally resorted to my sister-in-law. She has visited “Stoff og Stil” (a larger fabric store) in Bergen and is shipping what I need. I do not have a lot to choose from over here, but I will do the best I can with what I have. Now I am eagerly waiting for my package to arrive in the mail 🙂 In the mean time I am testing out some patterns and preparing for the “animal aventure” ahead of me.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Felted wool jacket, with hand knitted and crocheted details, knitting machine Brother KH820, Loretti 5544, combined techniques

  1. prttynpnk says:

    Im so glad you didnt give up on this- its wonderful! Challenge accepted and conquered!!!

  2. Pingback: Zebras and Felted Wool- only in the Jungle! « Pretty Grievances

  3. BeaJay says:

    That jacket is spectacular. So unique. Love it.

  4. sewlisa says:

    It is very beautiful and shows your great skills.

  5. Gjeometry says:

    Oooh, this is quite stylish, I like it! And it’s good you finished it now instead of smack in the middle of summer 🙂

  6. Gjeometry says:

    I’m following your blog to see what you come up with next!

Leave a Reply

