Lekala 5811

coverbildeMy youngest daughter loves “baggy tops” and this one seemed to fit right into her category. I chose to work with a Stretch Bamboo Rayon Jersey Knit. I do not like it when my gathering becomes a bunch of “bulk”. This is very fine and I think it will work well in the gathered areas. It is nice and pink, a happy color for upcoming spring!arbeidstegning

.

.

.

Here is my result.

IMG_3562

.

IMG_3546 copyThese are the pattern pieces. Be aware of the grain line when cutting the fabric. I thought it would go straight down all these pieces the way I laid them on the floor. Even though I did cut my pieces correctly, I did make a big BLUNDER!!!IMG_3551 copy

I was so disappointed with myself!!! I did not have enough fabric to cut new pieces and the fabric is so “frail” that I would destroy it if I tried to rip up the seam. The center front would just have to stay up side down and I had to improvise around it!!!

Because my center front  is the wrong way it was wider in the bottom front and narrower at the neckline than it should be. I solved this by cutting a deeper neckline and adding a cowl neck. In the bottom I  gathered the center front so it fit into the waistband.IMG_3558

You might also notice that I added a couple of “cuffs” to the sleeves. I did this because the fabric is so “shear” and I thought it would give them a better finnish.IMG_3557

The fabric had a great drape!

With leftover fabric I made a head band.IMG_3559

OK, I would not plan to make the mistake I made, but it turned out nice in the end! It just shows that we shouldnt give up .

Last, but not least, my daughter insists on including our dog “Turid” in most photo shoots 🙂 !IMG_3567

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lekala 5811

  1. prttynpnk says:

    A sharp young miss with a talented Mom!

  2. sewingforfun says:

    Thank you 🙂 You are quick to respond 🙂

  3. Gjeometry says:

    Beautiful top! And, quick thinking with the mistake fix there! I am currently learning to sew with knits, just made my first creation, a fleece hoody (which I’m wearing now), but it is a sturdier knit than this, so I think easier to work with. I am starting my next project now, with a fabric very similar to the one you have here. It does look quite fragile to work with, as you mention. I hope that I am able to do as good a job as you! (although it is not this pattern).

  4. sewingforfun says:

    Yes I saw your hoodie 🙂 very nice. I have made a lot of those. Nice, practical everyday outfits. When working with finer jerseys I find the flat swim suit elastic is a must around the neckline. It helps avoid things hanging. Other then that, the jersey needle is a must. If you have a serger you could baste with the sewing machine close to the edge (after pinning first) then just serge over your basting seam. If you do not have a serger I think a narrow zigzag is good :-). Here I am guiding you, you have probably read lots already. Good luck on your project 🙂

  5. Karla says:

    You have a young daughter with very sophisticated taste in clothing. The top looks wonderful and she’s obviously delighted with it. Congratulations! BTW, I have only recently ordered some Lekala pattern downloads, and I’m pretty impressed with the excellent drafting.

Leave a Reply

