Adding a ziper to stretch fabric

When I sew sweatshirts and other similar projects) adding the zipper can be a problem because the fabric tends to bulge (because the fabric is stretchy). I have solved this problem by ironing s strip of fusible interfacing (cut about 1 inch or 2  1/2 cm strips) to the wrong side of the fabric edge where the zipper will be sewn in. Afterwards I can sew the basting seam and just put in the zipper. My fabric stays perfectly flat 🙂

IMG_3871

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

