lekala 5304, safari jacket, “philosopical sewing”

While I was working on this project I got a bit “philosophical” 🙂

INTRODUCTION

THE SEWING DRAMA

There is more action in the sewing room then most people would imagine. A drama is taking place where I (the sewer) and the fabric bash at each other.

Firs I must understand the pattern. What on earth did the designers mean for me to do??? I spend much time thinking about sewing solutions, finding answers to my deep “problems”, always on the lookout for answers and clues. The sewing detective!!!

What fabric to choose for a specific pattern takes consideration? No doubt, “what I am thinking about” as I go for my daily walks with my dog?

Once all those fundamentals are in place I bash at the fabric using all the tools I come over. The poor fabric doesn’t stand a chance. I will FORCE it to obey me. I am the boss!!!

It is incredible what you can do to a flat piece of fabric. Cutting and shaping it using darts, pleats and interfacing. Not to mention the sewing machine, that forcefully tacks everything in place. Then after that battle my wonderful steam iron, helping my fabric relax after the battle (the spa).  Convincing it that things are OK and that life as a garment is a “good life”. Hopefully, in the end, it will comply and lay itself smoothly against the body!

THE REAL THING!!!

skisse cover

I started out with a relatively “plane” fabric. It was given to me by a friend as she was organizing her stuff. I don’t know the contents of the fibers, but an educated guess is a poly cotton mix, or maybe rayon? It has great drape and doesn’t crease easily. I thought that would be perfect for a top with pleats.

The design of this Lekala pattern is perfect for Cathrine. I knew she would like it. Lots of pockets and box pleats. Took forever adding interfacing and doing all the details, but it is so fun to see it take shape with all the details in place.

The instructions were not the best. There is f.esk no mark telling you where to end the collar seam,  compared to the front center, top part. I see now that I should have pulled it back a little, so I could have room for buttons in the top center front. But, oh well. This adds to my experience and it doesn’t really matter. She wont wear it all buttoned up anyway.

There are box pleats on the pockets, stryke lommenebut there is no mention about the pleat area in the center back, or the slit area in the bottom of the sleeves. But I guess with Lekala I do not expect the instructions to be detailed.  As long as I have some type of drawing of the front and back I can usually figure out most things myself. I am happy with the “new” translations of the instructions found at lekala.co. If it wasnt for the front and back sketches and at least a little clearer instructions you find here, I do not think I would attempt any more lekala patterns. I do LOVE their design. There are some  talented stylists in Moscow too!

In the back I made a box pleat to match the style of the pockets. Here it isl “basted down”. bak

This is how I sewed the slit opening in the sleeve.mønster

I cut a long strip of fabric about 4 cm wide, folded it in half, basted and pressed it,4 cm band

sewed arround the marked “slit area”, close to the line (reinforcing the fabric), reinforce slitmarking

cut slitCut it open

Folded it back, opening it all the way,band to slit

stitch band to slit2And of corse, press, press and press some more 🙂finnished slit

I have never spent so much time in front of the ironing board than I do these days. The more I sew, the more I realize how important it is.

The blouse/jacket is taking shape. From some  “plain” fabric pieces draped on my dressformforran

and LOTS of small little details with interfacing

interfaced parts.

to a finnished product 🙂 .forran1

bakYes, I love the design in the pattern. Would definitely make it again for Cathrine in a different fabric :-).  Oh, I really want to take my hand and pull that pleat down in that photo. But all in all, I think this was a success.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

