Planning vogue 8333 and vogue 8648, dress with matching jacket.

I have recently really “discovered” the craftsy.com platform. What a wonderful place to develop skills!!! I signed up for lots of their classes. I watch a little sequence every day, first watching through the classes and then going back to work on the projects. Wow,- this is developing!!!

IMG_0420Margrethe (My oldest son’s girlfriend) is  my “project”. This past february when we were cebrating my brother in-laws 50th birthday, she was  COLD in her cute little dress. So, I promised to make her something warmer.

I got some navy blue wool fabric from the states. Margrethe chose the color and the style. She liked the look of an outfit worn by “Kate of England”. Here is the photo from internet of “Kate” : http://blog.badjoan.com/2011/07/get-look-kate-middleton-navy-dress-and.html. kate'sdress

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

My focus now at craftsy.com is the class called “The Couture Dress”. In the class we use vogue 8648 and Margrethe wanted view A. easy options cover

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I am still in the beginning phase of this project. I have prepared and cut out the fabric for the muslin version of the dress ( I hope to sew it together today). When the dress is finnished (at some point) I will make the jacket using vogue 8333cover.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

When I bought the fabric I thought I only would be making a dress with it. I was therefore uncertain if my fabric was adequate for both these projects. I have already cut out fabric for a test run of the jacket ( different fabric) . Hopefully it will end up being a “wearable sloper”. To “test my fabric” I placed all the jacket pattern pieces and the “dress sloper pieces on my fabric and 🙂 YES, I think I can make it :-). There wont be lots of leftovers but it doesnt matter. I am true to the grain in the pattern pieces and that is the most important thing.mønsterdeler

I will underline the outfit with a cotton batiste and use a sand washed silk as lining. Now I just have to keep my tongue straight and do a good job 🙂 Hope this turns out well!!!

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Planning vogue 8333 and vogue 8648, dress with matching jacket.

  1. Sally says:

    Wow.. Big project. Looking forward to seeing the results on the lucky recipient! 🙂

  2. Gjeometry says:

    Wow, so many pattern pieces. Looks like it’s going to be beautiful, can’t wait to see it complete!

  3. Sitting Bull says:

    If this project turns out succesfully, you will have to make one for me too !;-) good luck my friend;-)

  4. Anne W says:

    Looks like a fabulous project, and I love the jacket you’ve chosen, what a great shape! Good luck with it all.

  5. Pingback: A update on Vogue 83333 and 8648 | sewingforfun

Leave a Reply

