The muslin is done, vogue 8648, the “The Couture Dress” from craftsy.com, class by Susan Khalje

Sometimes I wonder “when will I ever be an expert”??? I feel so sure that others out there “NEVER MAKE ALL THE MISTAKES I DO”!!! But then logic hits me and I realize I am probably not the only slow learner out there. Still it seems like others “just get it”. I make mistakes…. But on the bright side, I am always learning. I am a visual learner, so the classes at craftsy are fantastic to me!!!

I have worked on my muslin. The midriff pieces were worth MARKING WELL. I thought I had been thoural with all my markings, but when I was assembling them I got really confused. Turns out,  I missed a few marks and that was enough to throw me off. Now I have very clear marks, even telling what is up and down!!!

I was very careful to follow all the directions and be exact about the seam-line. However I am wondering if this pattern runs a bit big??? Here are some photo’s of the muslin before I started to make changes to it.

.side førside før 2forran før

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I wish that things would fit perfectly when you follow the sizing in the pattern! Yes I know, “people are different and the pattern companies make the patterns for all sorts of people”. But Margrethe is very standard shaped and I followed the measurements!!!

I started to think about “Emily from Craftsy”. She was the model Susan Khalje sews for in this class . I know they used a size 12, basically the same size I used and I think Margrethe “must be smaller then Emily“!!! She at least is a lot shorter!

I went back to the class, scanned  through it and found that Emily’s hip measurement is 39 inches. The bottom measurement of this pattern is 40 1/2 inches. That gives her an ease of 1 1/2 inches, Susan Khalje  thinks that was adequate ease. The sizing on the pattern cover would make Emily in between sizes 14 and 16. Yes, I should have made Margrethe’s pattern smaller. Her hip measurement is 38 1/2 inches. I made her a 14 over the hips, 12 over the midriff and in-between 10 and 12 in the bust (following pattern cover instructions).

I am no expert on fitting, but I am learning. It looks like the side seam was in a good place. Most of all I thought the dress needed to be more centered towards the front, making it lie more securely over the shoulders. I therefore downsized taking fabric mostly from the front and back center pieces.  This ment moving the side front and back  pieces a bit towards the front and back. forran etter

I also took a little from the waist and a “tad” in the sides. side etter

What do you think Susan??? Would you do something else???  I will probably take a little from the width of the skirt, giving Margrethe about the same ease as Susan gave Emily.

Because Margrethe lives 5 hours from me I am partly using myself as a model. We are almost identical in measurement. We are the same in height, I am a little bigger over the bust and midriff and her hips are a little wider then mine. But all in all we are close enough that I feel I can do this. For closer fitting i use my dressform.

meg etter

I think I will do ok. Hope so 🙂

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The muslin is done, vogue 8648, the “The Couture Dress” from craftsy.com, class by Susan Khalje

  1. Surely you mean ‘muslin’? Muslim is a person who practices Islam as religion.

    I’m so glad you completed you fitting process. What a progress!!

  2. sewingforfun says:

    OOps thank you for making me aware of that. I fixed it now 🙂

  3. Gjeometry says:

    Oooh, looks so professional, like you are at a tailor’s getting fitted! Good luck with finishing it.

  4. sewingforfun says:

    Thank you. I dont feel all that professional, but am trying… Fumbling a bit at the fitting… but as Susan Khalje said ” fitting is something you have to work at to become good at”. So I gues trying is the only way 🙂

  5. Brooke says:

    I LOVE that you have drawn all over your muslin mockup! Drawing on them is fun and too many people are afraid to mark them up. Looks like you are learning well! =)

  6. Pingback: a weekend trip to Bergen. Vogue 8648, Kwik Sew 2993, Cotour dress, wool gacket | sewingforfun

Leave a Reply

