Butterick 5646 and other summer outfits. Ruffle T-shirt,skirt,leggings.

I have thought about writing in my blog all summer, but…. I have been so busy…. 🙂 Have made many things though… Need to get them out here to show what I have been up to.

In the early part of summer I was busy getting my youngest daughter ready for her visit to the United States. She is spending two months with my family in the Madison Wisconsin area. Lots of shorts and light clothes were on the agenda. In the end she only ended up taking a few of the items I made along… Oh well 🙂 Such is life, she can probably use the other stuff when she comes home.

Here is “my girl” at the airport:IMG_5138

She traveled alone. Her first trip as “UM” (unaccompanied minor). She was very excited. My daughter’s friend decided that UM really means “Uten Mamma”… That is Norwegian and means “Without Mom” 🙂 very cute.

I made Lots of shorts. Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of them before she left. I made leggings, T-shirts, a skirt and tunics 🙂

While I was working on “the outfits” I was inspired by “ruffle tops” found at this sight http://tearosehome.blogspot.no/2010/07/for-shirt-for-ways-dark-green.html. I thought they were so cute I had to try to make my own.

Here is a yellow and a pink/brown versiongulforran rosa leggings top krem skjørt

I made leggings to match the tops and an old top and leggings served as my patterns. The skirt is a result of me playing with the gathering attachment on my serger. Lots of fun experimenting.

cover.

.

.

.

.

.

The sewing pattern I have used the most this summer is Butterick 5646. the first version is  made from a soft red rayon. It has pockets and I added a small ruffled sleeve.

rød forran

rødkrarterødbakOrange is “in” this season so we had to make one in this color using a fine “cotton voile”. oransjbak orangsjforran

My daughter likes to wear these tunics as vests and didn’t want buttons or pockets on it. She likes to “puff” it up with a belt in the waist. Cool!!

The gray version was really supposed to be a “test” before making the orange one. It has  the same shape and details as the orange one and is made from a sateen fabric.

grå forran2 mtilbehør grå forran grå bak

I will get back to you with more updates. 🙂 Hope you all are having w wonderful summer!!!

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Butterick 5646 and other summer outfits. Ruffle T-shirt,skirt,leggings.

  1. Lisbeth Wacker says:

    Så flink du er. Jeg er glad du har funnet hva du virkelig liker å gjøre.

    • sewingforfun says:

      Tusen takk Lisbeth 🙂 koselig at du er der borte 🙂 Ja, jeg er jo heldig som får lov til å drive med dette 🙂 Har du bilde av deg selv i toppen din hadde jeg gjerne ville sett det:-) Det er samme mønster som de toppene til Rebecca. Etter hvert skal jeg få en haug med de jeg har sydd på nettet. Hvis jeg hadde et bilde av deg i den blå kan du være med 🙂 Klem fra meg 🙂

  2. sewexhausted says:

    Pretty daughter and I hope she is having fun in the States… I was thinking about you yesterday- isn’t that funny? And then here you are posting! The ruffle top is GREAT! Looking forward to seeing more posts and updates from you! ~Laurie

    • sewingforfun says:

      You make my day 🙂 Nice to be thought of 🙂 Yes my daughter is having a blast. I have almost not spoken to her since she went over there. She is too busy with cousins, camp and other fun stuff :-)…. I do have quite the “backlog” things that need posting. But I am here 🙂

  3. kaloskraft says:

    I love that yellow outfit. And the beige leggings are so cute on her!

  4. Leigh Ann says:

    So nice to see you back. I love the ruffle tops.

Leave a Reply

