My summer hoodie collection :-) Kwik Sew 2993, hoodies

Kwik Sew 2993My all time “favorite” HOODIES… At least I think that is what I make most often. Mostly because I am a “practical gal”. I like to make things that will be in use.

My husband needed some new ones and so did my oldest daughter. Seems no matter how many I make there is always a demand for more :-). Clothes do not last forever. Giving me the opportunity to excel at my skills!

I found some fabric I liked. They were soft and great to the touch! But when I started asembeling them I was confronted with the “matching  stripes” problem”. I pinned and basted, but I still had to redo some areas. Seems the stripes just want to “slip out-of-place”. In the end I got them though. I made two striped versions for my oldest daughter.forran

sidebak.

The multiple colored stripes were the most difficult to work with.

forran

Compared to my first hoodies way back I do make nicer ones now. I love the facing behind the zipper. It gives the garment a much more luxurious look and feel (if you can say anything like that about such a casual garment).

slagThis fabric I got on sale from the states. I love the print.

forranbak

Then I made a mint green one 🙂  Simple, but nice.

forranI thought of my youngest girl, now in the states, and wanted to make her something also. She has a purple school hoodie she likes. I copied the shape and made a red copy.

rødforran

It has a lot of “flat locking” seam details. The shape is also more “intricate” and difficult to assemble then my friendly Kwik Sew pattern.

rødunderarmrødbak

No matter how many times I sew, I always make some mistake. I was so into the Kwik Sew 2993 zipper solution and did the same thing here without thinking. Then it dawned on me, the zipper needed to go all the way into the hood!!!! How to solve that when the zipper already was cut of???? I added “home made buttons!!!! IMPROVISING the sewers friend!rødkrage

Here you can see my husband. The only place you find stripes here is as a liner in the hood!

grå forran sort bak sort forran

But then I do it again. I visit the fabric store and find something perfect for my husband!!! It looks great, but it is full of STRIPES!!!! So I go at it again. I don’t know why I do this to myself because I can feel myself going cross-eyed as I look at the fabric.

marinestripet stoff

In the end I am happy though. Look at that nice husband. He was worth every minute! 🙂

streiper forran

AND I haven’t learned my lesson yet. I just got some stripy stuff for my son :-I I will stop my complaining and get to work 🙂

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My summer hoodie collection :-) Kwik Sew 2993, hoodies

  1. Wowwee! If I’d made one of those I’d be happy but you’re clothing your entire family! I love how you so confidently sew for others. Great finishes too, do you have an overlocker?

    • sewingforfun says:

      Yes I have a serger 🙂 It is a great tool!!! It helps give knits a “finnish”. But it is not totally neccessary to have one in order to get a great result. If you ever have questions when you make one, feel free to ask. I have made SO many garments like this. I gues it is the one thing I have lots of experience at.

      One thing I strugled with for a long time was the pocket opening. How to stabelize it to get the best results. More and more I am a fan of clear flat “swim suit” elastic. 🙂 It brings it together without making it too stiff or rigid. 🙂 Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

