A update on Vogue 83333 and 8648

Earlier this spring I had a post about making a dress and jacket for my son’s girlfriend. I thought someone might wonder how I was doing with it.  I have actually come quite far but right now it is RESTING….snoopy

This dress is my “cotour dress” project for the Craftsy platform. I have run into some difficulties. If you look at my previous post, you might have noticed that I moved the seams of the center top pattern piece towards the center. I am a little worried that this was a mistake and that it shifted the bust point of the pattern. When I put on the dress it bulges in a way over my chest. But I am not my son’s girlfriend. I do not remember it doing this on her when she was here last time.

https://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2013/04/20/planning-vogue-83333-and-vogue-8648-dress-with-matching-jacket/

forranprøving1I know these photos are not so great, but they are what I have. They were taken in May.prøving1bak3

I have done some more work on it since then. Here you see it on my dressform.

hjelp h side

The problem is that she isn’t here often, so I do not have much chance to try it on her. I am feeling a little disgusted about this. I do want to finish the dress!!!

cover

I actually also made a trial version of the jacket. I am glad I did, because I made some mistakes that destroyed it…… But the shape of it.. It is wonderful. I wish there was a class out there that could help me with the jacket. My interfacing selections are limited over here… I am not quite sure what is best to choose. Still, I think I can make that part work. I have no sewing friends here to confer with. I do have you all out there. But sometimes I wish I could bring you all into my living room!!!!! Then you could touch projects and talk. It would be great to have someone close to share ideas and sew with. But oh well!!!! I am actually quite blessed, so I do not have anything to complain about. I WILL FIND SOLUTIONS and I WILL get through this… at some point 🙂

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A update on Vogue 83333 and 8648

  1. Pella says:

    Terrific jacket pattern,definitely worth battling on with.

  2. Pingback: a weekend trip to Bergen. Vogue 8648, Kwik Sew 2993, Cotour dress, wool gacket | sewingforfun

  3. Donna says:

    I am just starting Vogue 8333, like your situation the person it is for is not often here. My daughter lives 1200 miles away. I do own Claire Shaeffers Couture book which should help. I have sewn many years but no longer feel challenged and really needed to step up my game,Vogue 8333 is my step up. After scouring the Internet and seeing the results other sewers have with this jacket some not so great but others just wonderful interpretations,I am encouraged.
    If you are still working on the jacket or plan to, please feel free to contact me and perhaps we could help one another thru it.

    • sewingforfun says:

      Yes I do want to work on this jacket. I have just been sidetracked, and somehow it seems I have missplased the dress…. But the jacket itself I want to make. I am visiting my family in the states right now and will be returning home on saturday (august 9th). Have picked up some interfacing for the project over here. I would love to hear how you are doing on your project 🙂

      • Donna says:

        Thanks for getting back to me so promptly. I am making curtains for my daughters kitchen and once that is complete I will begin the muslin for the jacket. She will be coming down here to Florida the last week in October to visit. It is my hope that I will have sent her the completed muslin by then and received it back with any changes and perhaps even then have cut out the pieces all before she arrives so I will have basted together jacket pieces to try on her. That is my hope. Reality will likely have its way with this project. I will keep you updated, perhaps we could do this jacket together.
        Donna

Leave a Reply

