second try at Vogue 1234, pattern by Sandra Betzina. Butterick 5232

coverIn August of 2012, I made my first attempt at this pattern. It has become a favorite in my wardrobe and I have received many compliments on it. I LOVE the skirt; it is so elegant with the “droops in the fabric” and the triangular shaped center parts. The only thing that bothered me was the short sleeves. Because I tend to get cool, I wanted to make a long sleeved, turtleneck Version. This has been in my head for a long time and finally I got around to it.IMG_7014 The first time I made this dress, I discovered it was too long. After shortening it, I had no split left and ended up making a casing in the bottom that I put elastic through. This has actually worked well, but this time I wanted to do it right. I shortened the skirt part of the pattern by about 10 cm (4 inches). There is no explanation in the pattern of how this “should be done”, but I subtracted 5 cm (2 inch) in two Places on the skirt panels.IMG_7272

I am very happy with the results. What a comfortable way to dress up!!! 06.04I also made a wool jacket using Butterick 5232. This is a great combination for my freezing body!IMG_7251

IMG_7241IMG_7240

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to second try at Vogue 1234, pattern by Sandra Betzina. Butterick 5232

  1. prttynpnk says:

    I love these together! Nicely done.

  2. Sitting bull says:

    Jakka og kjolen passa godt saman, nydeleg modell 😉 (tippa jakka var av ull)

  3. vavashagwell says:

    Hello! I’m just about to sew this out and noticed on a pattern review site that this pattern is too long. I love how you did a turtleneck and long sleeves. LOVE IT. Did you also shorten the center front and center back pieces? (1 and 4)

    • vavashagwell says:

      I should mention, I’m 5’7″

    • sewingforfun says:

      I only shortened the skirt pieces. The bodice I ajusted after sewing the dress up. Making it a little more fitted 🙂 Good Luck on Your Project, it is one of my very favorite patterns. I have made one for my oldest daughter and am planning a second dress for her. Very comfortable and stylish dress 🙂

  4. vavashagwell says:

    Hello again, thanks for your reply! Just to clarify, did you shorten by 4 inches the pattern pieces 1,2,3,4, and 5 in between the numbered points on the lower portions of each piece so that everything lined up? Your photo shows pattern pieced 3 and 5 only and that is why I’m sort of confused.
    It seems as if 4 inches would be taken off piece 1 (between points 5 and 6a), 4 inches off piece 2 (2″ above point 7, 2 inches below point 7 and 6a), 4 inches off piece 3 (2″ between points 6-7, and 2″ between points 7-4a), 4 inches off piece 5 (between points 4 and 4a), and 4 inches off piece 4 (between points 3 and 3a). I think this provides for all the points to match up and also maintain the kick pleat between 6a and 4a. Please correct me it I’m missing something. THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

