Love Notion: Ladies Trendy Tunic

LadiesTrendyTunicThe last couple of weeks I have spent at my cabin. I have sewing with knits only. Made several versions of “The Ladies Trendy Tunic” (found the pattern on Craftsy) and a couple of hoodies for my son.

When I saw this tunic pattern I fell in love with it right away. It was something I would enjoy wearing. Stylish, yet VERY comfortable.

My three first versions are made from a stretch cotton velour. It is SO nice and soft. I love the feel of it.  In the last two tunics I used French Terry Knit. I like topstitching and the Coverpro CPX 1000 is a great friend in projects like this. I made a decorative cover seam in the center front and back panels.

 

IMG_8305When I started working on the first version I trusted the size chart. Wow, I should have measured the pattern with a measuring tape in stead (like the fitting classes teach), but I was to lazy, just hoped it would be correct. Look at this, it is totally HUGE.

I made a size small on top and extra small over the hip. Now I have worked on getting the perfect fit. There are small differences in the different versions, as I tried to find what was right for me. As far as I remember I have reduced my original pattern with at least 12 cm ((4.8 inches) from both front and back sections. I tried to keep most of my changes here, so I didn’t interfere too much with the side pockets. In addition I “tweaked” a little here and there.

 

Now dont be scared by this first version. It turned out better as I worked with it.

This is my second attempt at the pattern. It is my shortest version. At first I didn’t like it so much, but it is growing on me.  My husband likes this one.IMG_8353

 

Tunic number 3 is  gray. I bought the fabric thinking it would make the perfect tunic.. But as I worked with it I took in a little too much under the arms. In the end I added a little fabric in this area,, mending my mistakes. Yes, I can wear it and it is comfortable, but I don’t think it ended up being as perfect as I planned. IMG_8345IMG_8341
Finallly my last two tunics i French Terry knit. I bought this fabric in the LA California fashion district as my husband and I visited this summer.

IMG_8328

 

IMG_8325

 

IMG_8349

After working with these tunics I still love the pattern. I will definetly use it again. But I would recomend measuring the bust, hip and waist areas of the pattern pieces and letting that guide you as you size your pattern.

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Love Notion: Ladies Trendy Tunic

  1. Thimberlina says:

    They’re fab, and i love how professional the coverpro finishes them off. I’d love one, but have an Overlocker and a sewing machine and my hubby would think I was nuts buying another machine. I’ll have to show him your photos and educate him! 😀

  2. Sitting Bull says:

    I like them all:-) if you happens to be tired of one just send it to me and i will be the happiest girl in Bergen !!!

Leave a Reply

