: Dress with Petticoat 09/2014 #111 from burdastyle

skisse16.03I am finished!!!! The last couple of weeks I have worked on this dress. I made all the parts except the belt.  The petticoat was finished today and my daughter and I are both very happy with the results.

IMG_8979 IMG_8914

In this photo you can see a tiny bit of the petticoat. My daughter loves drama and happily poses for her photoes!

I ended up sewing the cuffsto the dress. Because I placed the zipper in the center back I sewed half of the collar to the dress and the other half has snaps on it.

I shortened the sleeves, the skirt length and the center front slit. But in general I really like the shape of this dress.

IMG_8955  IMG_8975

Adjusting the fit over the bust was my greatest Challenge With this pattern. My daughter is an A cup, so I had to do something there. You can read about that in my previous post https://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2015/03/23/reducing-the-bust-size-on-a-princess-seam-dress/

I made my own Version of the petticoat. It needed to be much Shorter then the pattern indicates to fit the length of her dress. It is built on the general pattern instructions though. If I did it again, I would use even less fabric in the very top part. I dont like bulk in the tummy area. Still it Works well. IMG_8983

This coming Sunday my daughter is off to her Easter youth retreat with the youth in Our Church. Now she is ready for the party on the last night of the retreat. She is looking forward to this very much. Being a Young woman looking and feeling pretty is so important.

IMG_8923

And me, I couldn’t be more proud of my wonderful Young “lady”! She has her own style and lets me know exactly what the garment needs to look like. But this is great, because I want her to feel good about what she is wearing.  🙂

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to : Dress with Petticoat 09/2014 #111 from burdastyle

  1. prttynpnk says:

    That’s a beautiful shape and style for me! Brava!

  2. Thimberlina says:

    Well done on the fit, and all it entailed, was worth it, The finished result looks fab, I’d be proud too! – of yourself and your daughter 😀

  3. sewingforfun says:

    Thank you so much. 🙂 I feel happy 🙂

  4. Laurie says:

    So lovely on her! And I love how exuberant she is in her photos! Good to see she is enjoying that dress! Nice work!

Leave a Reply

