A small sewing shop in Vikersund, Norway. sewing inspiration

SONY DSC

In February, this year I visited a small town on the southwestern part of Norway called Vikersund. This is a cozy little town with a population of a little less than 3000 people. One of their main attractions was their ski jump, which at present is the largest ski jump and the only ski jump made for “ski flying” in Norway.hopp

While I was there I enjoyed walking through their small shopping street, studying clothes on display and to my great joy, there was a very small sewing shop there.

Of course, I had to go into that store. In the back sat a woman at a sewing machine and I started studying things she had made. It is so much fun to look at things on display, gathering inspiration and enjoy her work.

DSC_0027DSC_0030

The woman running the store was very pleasant as she shared some of her work with me. I had to take out my cell phone and take some Pictures.

She told me that she arranged sewing classes where they made wool-felted jackets.

DSC_0045DSC_0053DSC_0051

It was fun to see how she worked draping fabric over her dress form and then sewing them together into arrangements that pleased her eye.DSC_0060

Of course, I had to buy my own bit of fabric from her so I could make myself a souvenir when I got back home. You can see what I made in my Next post 🙂

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A small sewing shop in Vikersund, Norway. sewing inspiration

  1. Pingback: My self made souvenir from Vikersund. Boiled wool jacket. Felted wool jacket. Kwik Sew 2993 | sewingforfun

Leave a Reply

