Kwik sew 3352 and vest from shape shape 2 (by Natsuno Hiraiwa and Hiraiwa Natsuno)

This year my husband turned 50 and our youngest daughter had her 15th birthday. Here in Norway there is a very strong tradition of having “confirmation” for the 15 year olds. Originally this was tied humanistic groups (and others) have created their own ceremonies where the teenagers learn about important things in life and entering the “adult world”. Because we are not members of the Lutheran church and because we do not affiliate ourselves with any non-Christian organizations (we are Christian) we have chosen to just celebrate our children “growing up” with a family birthday party. Combining my husband reaching the ripe age of 50 and my daughter “growing up” we have had a combined party for both of them. All of my husband’s siblings, their family’s and my father in law were there (My family are mostly in the United States).

koltbord.kakebord

 

For such a occasion I wanted to make a “special outfit” for myself. A friend brought me back some nice silk from Vietnam last year and I now had a great opportunity to use it. I made a skirt with Kwik Sew 3352  .

kwik sew 3352

.shape shape2

and a vest using a pattern from “Shape Shape 2” (by Natsuno Hiraiwa and Hiraiwa Natsuno).

The skirt has almost a “bell like shape”.skjørt forranskjørtbak

I was a bit skeptical at first, but have decided that I really like it. I might make it up later in a soft drapy fabric (the silk is a bit stiffer).

Here I am With some of the flowers from the party.

Here I am With some of the flowers from the party.

I like the combination of the simple vest in a Japanese style with the skirt. After making the skirt I really didn’t have enough fabric to make the vest, so I adjusted the pattern by shortening it (I don’t need it so long anyway).

vest shapeshape2.vest shapeshape2 bak

I made it as long as I could with the fabric that was available to me and I am pleased. It was simple and fun to make.forran

So here you go fobak

 

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

