semi “self drafted” dress (Using a T-shirt as a pattern). lace and IT jersey dress

Hi again 🙂

forran

I made this dress for my daughter’s friend. This is something I have wanted to do for a long time, but you know, days come and go and it just “never happens”. Finally, I got around to it. I wanted to make it comfortable and user friendly, so my fabric choice ended up being stretch lace and IT jersey. The bodice and sleeves are made from stretch lace, while the “underlay and skirt” is made from IT jersey.

I knew that I wanted to make a simple fitted bodice and decided that my T-shirt would be a good starting point. I copied the shape of the T-shirt parts by drawingarmside around it (paper underneath). Then I cut the front, back and “cap sleeves” from IT jersey.

Afterwards I cut the same parts from “stretch lace”, the only difference was that I cut the sleeves longer (to bellow the elbows).

halsI assembled the IT jersey and lace top pieces separately, then put the lace on top of the IT jersey and finished the neck with a strip of folded lace. This I sewed through both fabrics  around the neck (joining the tops together), folded it to inside and hand stitched it in place. Now I put the dress on my daughter (she was my model) and marked along the “waist”. I sewed the skirt one cm below the waistline.

The IT jersey skirt I gathered using elastic, before sewing it on to the bodice.

There is no zipper in the back because the fabric is so stretchy. Overall, this is a very comfortable easy maintenance dress and YES, I am very happy with the results.side2 side bak

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in comfortable dress, dress, IT jersey, Lace, simple dress, stretch lace. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

