simplicity 1795, cow hat, french bulldog hat???

Yesterday I got my “animal print” fabric in the mail. In addition to the fabric I asked my sister in law to buy,  she also picked me up a “surprise fabric”. She said it was something I would never buy myself. But you know, she was wrong. I would buy it 🙂 Today I have worked on some very cute hats. Take a look. Rebecca forran revecca forran 2

I made three similar hats. One for my daughter and the others for two nieces.

Why would I not like this fabric? It is very cute.

Simplicity 1795 has a lot of options for youth fur hats. They have little pockets with paw prints on the inside of the lining. . mønstercover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I  made the ears a little longer than view D. After all this fur either has to be a cow or a french bulldog. What do you think?kalvturid

 

 

 

 

 

 

 A couple of things I found helpful when sewing:

In addition to an iron on adhesive backing,  I also used also an old sheet in the back of the pocket. This was a great help to prevent my stretchy fabric from puckering as I sewed my apliques in place. IMG_3263

I trimmed the fabric close to the seams when I was done. The worn out sheet was so soft, it didnt matter that some was left in the back of the pocket. bak lomme

On the top back of the pocket I added some clear swim suit elastic. I zigzagged it to the back of the top before I folded it under and sewed a straight stitch.  I thought this might help prevent it from “gaping” when finished. I was careful only to pull the elastic slightly , so it didn’t pucker. strikk

 

 

 

Do you see any resemblance?01 hopp ligg og kos

 

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to simplicity 1795, cow hat, french bulldog hat???

  1. Gjeometry says:

    Hi there Sewingforfun. I was nominated for some blogging awards and I am passing some of those awards on to you! Please check here: http://gjeometry.com/2013/01/12/its-a-bouncing-baby-blog-award-wait-its-triplets/ I’ve been enjoying your blog and wanted you to know it! 🙂

  2. Sitting Bull says:

    You’ve gotten a lot out of the secret piece of cloth! i’m sure the kids get to play much with the costume 🙂

Leave a comment