A vacation wardrobe, Vogue 8634

Getting ready for Crete

kretaMy daughter just left for a 15 day vacation to Crete. She is accompanied by a very good friend and her grandmother. Two weeks in the sun, sounds tempting.
Before she left her and I had 1 ½ weeks all alone at home. My husband and younger son were off on a “boy’s trip”. With my youngest daughter in the United States and oldest son in Bergen we had some nice bonding time. We decided to work on a vacation wardrobe for her. She wanted something casual but nice.
mønster coverBecause time was short and we wanted to make lots of fun stuff we decided to use a familiar pattern that we liked. Vogue 8634 is a favorite and we decided to “play with it”.

We made some modifications. Most versions are without the collar (one with), the sleeves are shortened and the front top and bottom sections are “fused together” to one pattern piece.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We altered the length and shape of the hem to fit our “wants”. All in all we mad 7 tops. Some are relatively  “plane” and others more “fun”.  One of the even became a dress.

Relaxed on the couch. The dress is finished and she is embracing fabrics for more tops!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But you cant just play!!! Being a “model is sereous busines”!!!  Better go outside and get some nice poses!!!!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The  neckline has a simple finnish. First I zigzagged some flat, clear “swimsuit elastic” and then folded under twice and topstitched.

What is a wardrobe without accessories? We made lots of bead necklaces to match the different outfits. All in all we made four pairs of shorts. We also cut of the bottom part from some old leggings to match the “dress version”.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My daughter gave some of the tops different “names”. This is what she called the “Catsuela” outfit, because it looked ” Mexican”.Catsuela

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one she named “Marimekko” because the print resembles the prints of the Finnish designer.

flintstones

and then there is the “tired late night shot” of the “Flintstones version”.

The shorts are a free interpretation of vogue 2948 by Sandra Betzina (beige shorts) cover

and butterick 5504 (the more gauzed shorts)cover

we made a pink top,  one green (didn’t get a shot of that one)  and two white ones. rosahvit

Lots of FUN and WORK!!! 🙂  But when all is said and done, her very favorite top is this one. blomsterblomster besjblomster besj skilkpadde

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A vacation wardrobe, Vogue 8634

  1. Wowee, fabulous Summer sewing! I like the last top best too. The high/low hem is very effective and you’ve got such a professional finish.
    Where do you get your fantastic fabrics??

  2. sewingforfun says:

    Most of these fabrics are ITY jersey and I think they were from fashionfabricsclub.com 🙂 A while back I got a big box that my sister forwarded to me from the states 🙂 I enjoy stacking up on things like that because I don’t have that great a selection of fabrics like that over here 🙂

  3. sewingforfun says:

    I just thought I should add that I left the bottom edge and armhole opening unfinished. I find it many times gives the best finnish especially with ITY jersey. After watching Sewing Fashion Knits with Linda Lee on craftsy I have ventured into not always “finnishing” jersey edges. I think especially with the ITY jersey that it many times looks better this way. But I cut edges that I will not “finnish” with my rotary cutter, not scissors, because it leaves the cut totally “smooth”. 🙂

  4. Unni says:

    Fine toppar du har sydd, Kristin! Heldige Cathrine 😉

Leave a comment