McCalls 6450, “safari hat”,

skall-safari hatt skall safari 2

When I asked my sister-in-law to buy fabric for my animal print challenge, she laughed and said that I should make a hat too. This project is dedicated to Randi, my very willing and helpful sister-in-law 🙂

For this project I used a sturdy upholstery fabric (that I got in a grab bag) and left overs from my first animal print dress/tunic https://sewingforfun.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/lekala-4136-animal-print-dresstunic-rayon-lycra-dress/   and McCall’s 6450 was the “safari looking” pattern I could find.  I did not use horse hair canvas as the pattern suggests. Only many layers of fusible interfacing. This worked, because it stabilized my leftover jersey fabric well.

Here my daughter is modeling the result of my efforts. She was on her way to the theater with her Dad when I came down with the finished hat. She grabbed it and decided to wear it. After all, “they were going to the theater and hats belong there”!

bakforranside-2blomst.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Hats are not the garment I make the most, but a cute one is always nice. The pattern was good to work with and I did get the desired look!

Last, I also feel like trying on the hat!   Here I am with my complete outfit!IMG_3454

About sewingforfun

Have four children, am a nurse. Am presently at home during the days. Have been sewing since I was little, and I enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to McCalls 6450, “safari hat”,

  1. Anne W says:

    Cute! I have left-overs from my jungle january jacket, & had thought of either making a hat or a bag.

  2. Sally says:

    Love it! I always wear hats outside and the selection is dwindling… time for another one I think… this pattern looks just my type. 🙂

  3. Pella says:

    Cute hat, love the embellishments.

  4. Pingback: Continuing the Mission….in the jungle! « Pretty Grievances

  5. Love this in so many ways!! I spend entirely too much on hats. This is the kick in the butt I needed to finally make my own. Thanks for being an awesome jungle inspiration.

  6. Pingback: The Annie Awards! Semi-live and semi-ferocious! | Pretty Grievances

Leave a comment